Home Smartphones How To Go Full Incognito on the YouTube App

How To Go Full Incognito on the YouTube App

by Milos Markovic
89 views

When you are watching videos on your YouTube smartphone app, sometimes you just want to browse privately. This is where various YouTube settings like the Incognito mode YouTube feature can help. If you were curious about how to go incognito on YouTube, it is quite simple to turn on via the app interface.

Let us show you how to turn on Incognito on YouTube and how to use it.

Table of Contents:

What Does Incognito Mean on YouTube?

People sometimes wonder what is incognito on YouTube. It is quite a useful option that you can turn on that allows you to watch videos or Shorts privately. Essentially, when YouTube Incognito is on, YouTube will act as if you were signed off. This means that the app will not save your watch history.

Therefore, you can both search and watch anything without your activity being saved. Everything you do in this mode is private and the mode will inform you when you try to do something public like liking a video or commenting. So if you have something you want to search for or watch securely YouTube Incognito is great for that.

How to Go Incognito on YouTube

Turning on the Incognito mode YouTube feature is quite simple and can be done through the YouTube app. Follow this step-by-step guide to see how.

  • First, open and sign in to your YouTube app. Then, from the Homepage, tap on your profile icon in the top right.
1. Tap on Your Profile Icon in YouTube App
  • From the following menu select Turn On Incognito.
2. Select Turn on Incognito in YouTube App

You will then be transported to the YouTube app homepage with the Incognito mode active. You will be able to see the Incognito mode bar on the bottom of your screen indicating that it is on.

If you are wondering how to turn off Incognito mode on YouTube, it is just as simple. 

  • From the app homepage tap on the Incognito icon in the top right.
4. Tap on the Incognito Icon in YouTube App
  • Select Turn Off Incognito from the following menu.
5. Select Turn off Incognito in YouTube App

Once you deactivate YouTube Incognito, the Incognito bar at the bottom of the screen will disappear.

How to Use Incognito Mode on YouTube

Apart from the basic notion that your activity will not be saved while using Incognito on YouTube, there are a few elements that are useful to know. Firstly, as we mentioned, you can always track whether Incognito is on by the gray bar at the bottom of your screen.

Secondly, if you try to do something like commenting on a video or simply liking it, you will be asked to turn off Incognito mode to continue.

6. Tap on the Turn Off Incognito in YouTube App

This is to prevent you from accidentally doing something public while browsing privately. Thirdly, if you are inactive for more than 90 minutes, your Incognito session will automatically end on your YouTube app. When you come back from your break, the app will let you know that YouTube Incognito is no longer on.

Finally, keep in mind that even though you are using Incognito on YouTube, your activity might still be available to some parties. These can include your internet provider or your employer.

Final Remarks

The YouTube Incognito mode is a great way to hide your activity while browsing through videos. It essentially enables you to watch videos as if you were signed off while being signed in. While it is useful for hiding information from other people who use your device, keep in mind that your ISP or your employer can still access your history. That being said, it is still a useful feature in many other cases. Have fun going Incognito and check out our other YouTube app guides.

Leave a Comment

You may also like